Home General Discussion

PC Cookbook

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Vrav polycounter lvl 11
I don't know what most of you guys do to eat, but as a starving artist I enjoy learning how to make delicious food for cheap. So, let's share recipes and techniques. Anything from muffin baking to sandwich making, cheese fondue to BBQ is go.
PC_chef.jpg
submit by jouste

~

Tofu Stir Fry. submit by oXYnary

(not yet pictured)

For the non-meat-eaters out there.

1 Package of Thick Tofu
Virgin Olive Oil
1/2 Egg Plant
1 Pepper
Jalapeno (3)
5 Mushrooms
Fresh Spinach (handful)
Ume Plum Vinegar

Start the frying pan on medium low heat with the olive oil. Cut the Tofu into bite size blocks and douse in the Plum Vinegar.

Throw into the Pan and let fry alone for about 4 minutes. Stir constantly. You can tell when its they are good when they have a yellow discolorization happening.

(Before this while these were frying, cut up all the veggies into "forkable" pieces.)

Throw on the Veggies, and add a dash more of Vinegar, and some more Olive Oil. If you want some extra flavor, add a dash of Cumine or such.

Stir the tofu so its on the top while the veggies are underneath. Cover the frying pan and turn down temperature. Let sit for about 5 minutes.

Remove the cover and start stirring the veggies/tofu again (turn heat back up). Cook until you deem is appropriate. For more texture, longer. For more vegetable freshness, shorter.

For some crunchiness, add oat or rice cereal crushed when you originally were frying tofu alone to pan.

Remove from pan to dish. Let sit for 5 minutes. Ready to serve.

~

Great bacon in the microwave. submit by divi

(not yet pictured)

divi says: "in theory it sounds terribly gross, but in reality you end up with something thats just as crispy as it is when you make it in the oven or pan."
sir-knight says: "I've done bacon in the microwave before... it's quite good.. a lot less fat."