Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Gas tank prop

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
JostVice polycounter lvl 12
Hello there... made this prop for a mod I'm working on, but I don't like the texture at all. Anyone has suggestions or ideas?

No normals/bumps/specular support, only vertex colors in this game

I'm open to constructive critics :)

th_gastankprop.jpg th_gastankprop2.jpg th_gastankwire.jpg th_wireframegas.jpg

And here is the texture

th_GP_jvgastank.jpg

Replies

• jaball
    hey jostvice

this post grabbed my attention cause the first model I textured was one of these tanks! Anyway, my first thought would be change the color from green. I am no expert in the fuel tank field but I have not seen many green tanks.

I dont know the context of this scene but I would dirty this thing up as much as possible! Rust, Dirt, Filth, maybe slop up the paint on "paradise Gas", make it look old. Again this is all assuming that you can make it look dirty, I dont know if it is suppose to be clean or not. but in my meager experiance in this industry I found that making stuff dirty is some good clean fun! lol no pun intended!

Makin it white or grey may make it more identifiable to people, when I first saw it I didnt think fuel tank...

Most of all thou you should just start gathering reference. Im sure a google search would yeild some results! if not there are usually some of these in every town ive been in. take pictures and use photo reference for your textures.

you have a great start here and a perfect model for some interesting textures! keep it up and hope to see some updates!
  • JostVice
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey :)

I will try to change the colour to white/grey, and try to add some brown rust. I didn't say the context but the mod is on a tropical environment (jungle) and city.

I will try and add more dirt everywhere and add grunge to the text.

Thank you :D
  • fast1
    hope to see the updated version, good job thoughclear.gif
  • JostVice