Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

midia

hi this is a char for a game that I'm starting with a friend will be slow progress lol 2 people but just for fun anyway I'm new to Maya and modeling for a game that can use more then like 500 polys lol ( WC3 Mod'er ) so don't go super harsh on me here this is my first 1k + poly model to a game where you can actual see the model lol any here it is and shoot away. i realize i have to fix those Tris in there but shoulders and head have me confused so some tips and tricks plz
tr.jpg

Replies

• Midna
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    might as well show some art off in here too.
    here's a picture of my friend i drew.
    MeganDone.jpg
  • Michael Knubben
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You don't need to 'fix' any tris at all. Tris are only a problem when the model will be subdivided later on, so for instance when it's the basemesh you're going to use in mudbox. This is important to remember: Your model will be completely made up of tris ingame.
    That's really all a quad is, anyway: two tris.

About 'tips and tricks' for the head and shoulders: just make them, and we'll tell you where you went wrong. There's never one 'right' way to go about it, plus it always depends on what it'll be used for in the end. For the head it's worth considering whether it'll be animated, how complex said animation will be, whether you'll need the inside of the mouth etc...
    Right now though? I wouldn't worry about that yet, and just make a head with a closed mouth.
    And check out the polycount wiki for tips on topology (the layout of edges on your mesh).
    This page is a good start, for instance: http://wiki.polycount.net/CategoryModeling

Also, I feel I should mention that people generally don't like you adding them to msn when you don't know them. If you want quick advice on something, there's always the Model_Design irc-channel, where a lot of Polycount regulars hang around.
  • Midna
    Options