Home Technical Talk

Noob question on projection mapping

polycounter lvl 15
Offline / Send Message
Billabong polycounter lvl 15
Hey guys,

I really need some serious help.

I Have just finished modeling a very high detail car(1.8million tris) That includes the interior and exterior as well. The client I have done this for tells me that they want a 50,000 tri car built from this model.

Here is my problem, I have never done low-poly converting before This car has 785 objects in it. Man I don't even know where to start. Do I attach all of these objects to make it one and then just create a very low poly object around the car do some type of project from the high poly to the low poly version,If so how, Is there a tutorial somewhere that could teach me this.

Also,if this is the correct way, will the interior be projected as well as seen through the windows, or do I need to recreate the interior as well.

Please forgive my ignorance on this, but I am clueless when it comes to this type of thing and I am really strapped on time. They have given me 2 days to tell them if I can do this or not. So here's hoping you guys can get me going in the right direction.

Thank you so much for taking the time to try and help me.

-Brandon

I also wanted to add that the doors will not be opening the low poly model is basically being created to be seen from a distance, so there will be no closeups or even going inside to look at the interior as long as it can be seen from the outside

Replies

• System
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    System admin
    Really if you are looking to project high res details you need to make a low poly base mesh with all the basic characteristics of the shape - following all the contours... take it to z brush and create a high detail model for your normal map.