Home General Discussion

What to say in interview.

Hi guys,

I didn't grow up playing video games(not many access), but I love art. I studied game art and loved it (both technical part and artistic part). I played some games when I have time, but right now in school just kinda too busy. ( I want to have good portofolio)Shall I tell the truth in job interview? I thought it is always better to be honest.

Replies

• Snowfly
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snowfly polycounter lvl 18
    Sure there are tons of people in games with no background playing games. I prefer folks like you, who bring a fresh, less tainted perspective to a project. :-)
  • Xena
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I actually told EA that, and now I don't know what is going to happen. I wish I grew up in US like lots of my classmates. My parent wouldn't even let me study art or play games when I was teen.
  • Snowfly
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snowfly polycounter lvl 18
    I don't work at EA, but I don't see how a background playing games is directly relevent to the position you are applying for...your portfolio looks pretty solid, so I wouldn't worry about that. The most productive thing I can suggest is not look back at the EA interview, and prime yourself for the next interviews. Good for your job prospects, and your own peace of mind. :-) Good luck man!
  • pliang
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pliang polycounter lvl 17
    However for people who do say they play games...make sure to mention how that affects your view towards development as an artist...some people I've heard before didn't really answer that well and they were applying as a designer which made it just as embarrassing.
  • fogmann
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fogmann polycounter lvl 17