Home Career & Education

LONG time hobbyist - portfolio review

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Temppe polycounter lvl 12

Hello,

I've done a few WIP threads here over the years. But I'll introduce myself again here. I'm Rob, 34, based in the UK. I've been doing 3d art as a hobby for over twenty years - I started at the age of 12 or so making weapons for Quake, then levels for Half LIfe... I experimented over the years with doing film-oriented work (and even tried/failed to make a live action short ten years ago) but ended up back doing real time assets because because in the end, that's what I love doing.

I started off doing hard surface, then busted my balls over a few years studying anatomy and ended up doing some okay characters. Ten years ago I did an undergrad in Product Design partly because at the time I just didn't have the confidence in myself that I would ever do games art as a career... also because there were no games courses in Ireland. Probably a mistake, but anyway. Then last year I finished a Masters in Games Art and Design at the University of Hertfordshire in the UK, during which time I focused more on doing character work.

A few weeks ago I took a hard look at my portfolio and admitted to myself that despite all my effort over the years, my characters just weren't that good and I should focus on hard surface if I want to get a job. I removed some old stuff and separated the rest into albums so I can only show the relevant material to potential employers.

Here is the link to the hard surface (of course feel free to say what you want about the organic stuff too).

Artstation