Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

New to 3D, is it ok to use subdivision surface on my gun model for my game to make it look nicer?

I just started off making my first 3d game in unity. I'm not really experienced when it comes to 3d modelling, but I did it for a few months already some years ago. So I have been wondering about if polycount matters or can I just slap a subdivision surface modifier on my gun and that will be alright. Here are some images, it's a very simple model since I did not want to mess up the mesh.

Replies

• Fabi_G
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fabi_G insane polycounter

Hello 👋 I would say it depends what you make 3d for (Games? Movies? Images/Renders?) and what sort of style/complexity you need. If it's too heavy for real-time use, the solution is typically to bake down the details to textures to be used by a low resolution mesh.

Consider checking out the polycount wiki (wiki/Subdivision_Surface_Modeling) and stickied threads to get a better understanding of subcategories and workflows. There are also some nice WIP threads in this forum subsection, where you can follow peoples progress. Or research the background of assets you like (target specs/requirements, workflow and techniques used).

Good performance while working is also crucial imo, but from your pics, it's not an issue here.

Much success!

• andreygheorghe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    andreygheorghe polycounter lvl 9