Home General Discussion

Use of the original logo

Offline / Send Message
Pinned

Hello everyone. I have no knowledge about digital versions of the product and their correct presentation for sale. Would love to hear some good advice on this.

For example, I am making a 3D model, specifically weapons. I want to put it for sale in the stores in the future. Many parts (stock, scope, magazine, etc.) have their own original names and logos, can I directly transfer them to my weapon model? 

On the Internet, I came across various information. Someone says that it will be enough just to indicate the name of the original product in the description, etc.. Someone even says that such use entails litigation. At the same time, I came across a huge number of models where the original names and logos are drawn (not only weapons), and that models are for sale.

So the question is - can I do this, transfer the original logos, or do I need to come up with my own names and draw my own logos? And the next question - will it not be worse?

Replies

• kanga
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage

Take a lead from a game like GTA. To be perfectly safe from litigation avoid any forms that look copied from excising products (logos should be avoided entirely). Use your imagination, develop your own ideas.

• rexo12
    Offline / Send Message
    rexo12 interpolator

In general, copyright law permits you to do nothing with a piece of media without permission from the owner. It is only through license agreements and such that permit you to reproduce, modify, distribute etc the media. It should be obvious whether or not you have an agreement with the copyright owner.

You don't know, some of those models you've come across may have actually acquired rights to display those names and logos (not uncommon for big game productions).