Home Career & Education

SLIGHTLY Autistic ARTIST, worried about work place politics!?

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
ScopeDragon polycounter lvl 4

Hi guys

I'm a 3d artist been working outside the industry. I have recently been diagnosed with Asperger's (high functioning autism). I don't have any disruptive quirks I'm just kind of introspective and focused when I am being working creatively.

I am worried about the game and vfx industry. I'm an introverted but Im a easy going person, I don't really have an huge ego and I can be very fluid. However after my diagnosis I completely realized I was unaware of office politics.... And soon after I realized that I got burned like a lamb at my broadcasting news director job.

So I want to ask...How bad are the office politics in the industry, and is the industry a bad place for introverted/neurodivergent artist? Are there any positions or studio environments that would be better to work in than others?

I don't mind harsh honesty..

Thank you,

Scope

Replies

• Alex_J
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter

my wife is same boat and she's a lawyer.

i never took any test but i am just like my wife, and i've worked a couple jobs that were heavy on politics. I don't think you can escape it. I also think that any company/team that is unwelcoming place for quiet, honest, focused types must be not a nice place to work for anybody.

• ScopeDragon
    Offline / Send Message

@Alex_J Were those jobs in the games industry? And was it a high level of politics or just average level day to day issues?

• Alex_J
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter

No, I was in the military and later worked in a variety of odd jobs.