Home Career & Education

Reach out to the community for help.

kongbui
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
kongbui polycounter lvl 4

Hello guys,

Currently, I just failed an art test at a game studio. I've been working in the industry for 3 years and am now slowly transitioning to the role of a 3D modeler for games. I know the first job is always the hardest to find and to be honest the feeling of facing a failure from time to time after spending months improving yourself and hoping you get a step forward but it stuck.

I'm bitter a bit, that's true and I admit it. But that doesn't mean I will give up. I know exactly what I need to improve and which direction I should go after those failures.

Well, I'm making this post with the purpose of having myself some cheer up from you guys, not like a cry-baby or seeking attention. I just want to hear some positive thoughts and comments.

I believe no matter how tough you are as a person, sometimes in life you still need other people to help you, and give you their sympathy during a down time of your life. And to me, this is that moment.

Well, please come at me, mates.

Replies

• killnpc
    Offline / Send Message
    killnpc polycounter

sorry you didn't get the job. i've been there. it's great you were able to get the opportunity, not everyone gets a test. i'm glad to see you're still at it and aren't giving up.

• Alex_J
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter

presumably you are going to make more art and apply for more jobs, right?

so there is no time to feel sorry, there is work to do.

if you share your artwork that failed I am sure some people will help you identify it's weaknesses. You can write down what the problem is, add this to a list, and then as you make new art review this list and make sure you aren't making same mistakes twice.

The faster you fuck up a bunch of times, the more complete that list is going to get. Eventually you won't be able to fuck up anymore.