Home Career & Education

I need some advice on my portfolio and jobs seeking.

kongbui
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
kongbui polycounter lvl 4

Hello,

Recently, I've tried to apply to some game studios and got turned down by all of them. It just got me to the point of thinking like "I need some solid feedback and guidance on my portfolio". So here is it, guys. Please have a look.

ArtStation - Kông Bùi

Please tell me your opinions on the quality of the work and what is lacking to qualify for the role of 3D Modeler or Environment artist in a game studio. Please help a friend out. Thank you.

By the way, I also work as a professional 3D artist for 3 years.

Replies

• killnpc
    Offline / Send Message
    killnpc polycounter

hi kongbui,

as a plus, your work is rather good, industry experience is great to have, and you articulate with good writing. it will not hurt to showcase character work for an environment artist portfolio but it's best to remain focused toward a particular role. the props you had shared before, i felt were of good quality and are more aligned to the role you're seeking. the environment piece you're showcasing is your weakest piece, as the textures and lighting look outdated. from what i can tell, a majority of AAA studios use more modern, higher fidelity graphics. at least those types of pieces stand out to me the most. showcasing an ability in a range of different render-pipelines, software, and techniques would be fantastic. beyond well constructed prop assets, for an environment artist, i feel it would be most important to display a competence in creating vista shots of environments, to me this is the quintessential flex of the environment artist.

i think your portfolio needs more entries. being selective with each new piece will help showcase a larger range of your understanding of the skillset. keep up the grind and best of luck in your job search.

• kongbui
    Offline / Send Message

Thank you for your review, mate.