Homeβ€Ί 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Please review my portfolio.

polygon
Offline / Send Message
nexussim polygon

I have been practicing CGI for about 9 months now and have focused on environmental/props/hard surface and texturing. My mindset always moves towards making the most detailed thing I can make, but some of my more recent projects were much smaller and focused so as to learn a particular area...such as texturing and how to handle a specific material like glass or rope and so on. I do know that I should only be posting my best work but our minds can blind us right? For example, my favorite project was the podracer. It was a passion project and I would happily do another one, but, should it be in my porfolio? It took me one month and I did it after about 1 month of learning, so maybe my love for it is blinding the hard truth? I don't know.

Anyways, if anyone would be so kind as to review my portfolio and give me any feedback (no matter how harsh), it would be hugely appreciated!! Some specific things I'm looking for is if it's anywhere near junior job ready, what areas I need to work on and what projects should be axed from the portfolio page. (Maybe I'll add folders and make one specifically for Portfolio). Thanks in advance for any help.

Oh! I should also be noted that 2 of the projects look like courses, but the raft scene I made myself because I liked the picture I saw and the farmhouse scene I mostly worked ahead of the course and went back to see if I could pick up new info. Then I added a bunch of things of my own to the composition.

Here it is: https://www.artstation.com/andrewcave

And here is my current project that isn't finished but will be going up at some point:

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter

Hey Andrew! Always cool to see someone on Polycount also from BC.