Home Career & Education

3D Training Institute - any good?

Battlecry
null
Hi!

This is my first post on Polycount! I have some prior 3D modeling experience in Wings3D and modding games - nothing good enough to share - and am interested in developing my skills further with the ideal goal of working in the game industry. I realize that is not always attainable and would be fine working in less glamorous industries that can make use of 3D skills.

My main interest is hard surface modeling like vehicles and weapons. The 4-month program for 3D Studio Max offered by the 3D Training Institute (3DTi) sounds really appealing but I can't find much information and reviews on it.

Does anyone have any experience with this institute or the 4 month "production-based course" they offer? Will a program like this provide a solid foundation for breaking into the game industry? And are the program features - the post-graduate alumni support - actually beneficial?

http://www.3dtraining.com/asp/programs_3dsmax.aspx

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Do they define "post-graduate alumni support" or is that left vague as well?

Sounds like promises Art Institute has made as well.
  • Aydhe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Aydhe polycounter lvl 5
    I'd say, it would be very beneficial for you to post portfolio so people can get idea how good you are and recommend appropriate stuff.
  • Battlecry
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Battlecry null
    Do they define "post-graduate alumni support" or is that left vague as well?

Sounds like promises Art Institute has made as well.

From their website, "post-class support" includes:

Alumni community access - Access to community site and webinars to keep you in touch with the industry.
    Project assistance - Review and feedback on portfolio/client projects by our supervisors
    Access to the platform for up to 1 year after completion.