Home Career & Education

Just for a change... Lets have a topic for a newbie!

Hi all,

First of all, I want to apologise for probably asking the same question you've all heard a million times over!

I am a blank canvas, completely fresh to the industry and the art world! I have stumbled across a bit of a fascination for the 3D world and designing and exploring my creative side!

I was wondering if anyone had any advice on the route to take as a self taught noob to the industry? I've been working at some tutorials in Maya etc and doing fine, a lot of learning the software more than anything but I notice that every now and again some buzzwords are thrown around like topology etc.

Ideally I was looking for some recommendations on where I can look into these fundamental skills that will aid me with my journey post tutorial videos! I don't want to end up as an artist that can follow a tutorial video but chucked into the world struggle to create my own work due to lack of understanding of the fundamentals! Then following that the best ways to learn and progress my skills!

Any help or feedback will be incredibly appreciated, as I said, I am completely new to the industry and am honestly just loving the time I've spent here so far and want to carry on progressing! I'm putting in a lot of hours day to day at the moment and would just like a bit of clarification I'm on the right path!

Thanks all in advance, you're all great!

Alfie

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    first define an actual goal otherwise you can't know if you're getting anywhere or not. 

i'd forget about words like "progression" and instead just focus on one completing one small project at a time. Define how it has to look like, and then learn whatever you have to to meet that goal. Copying work of others is good way to keep clear goals.