Home Unreal Engine

Help requested, bark material in Unreal 4

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Camille_Meehan polycounter lvl 3
Hello :) I would be grateful if you could point me in the right direction to fix my banyan tree bark?

Background: I'm creating the texture in Substance Designer. This is a test in UE4.26 to see if the big macro shapes are lining up as I imagine, with the trunk. They are going up with the world...but not locally with the shape of the mesh. The trunk looks great! The branches and roots, dreadful. 

I've included an image of the material and mesh in UE4 as well as some images of the mesh itself so you can see it without the leaves etc. I'm a student and your help is very much appreciated, thank you.

Replies

• poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    Um...
    UV the branches ?
  • Alex_J
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    Two important things that you haven't shown: 

1. The material graph
    2. The UV's of the tree

If the material is applied to UV space, you have to fix the UVs. 

If it is applied world space you fix it in the material graph. 

Once you pinpoint the problem then fixing it is just a few easy steps. It's common stuff so you can google it easily as well, just have to know where the problem is so you can search the right phrase.
  • Camille_Meehan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J said:
    Two important things that you haven't shown: 

1. The material graph
    2. The UV's of the tree

If the material is applied to UV space, you have to fix the UVs. 

If it is applied world space you fix it in the material graph. 

Once you pinpoint the problem then fixing it is just a few easy steps. It's common stuff so you can google it easily as well, just have to know where the problem is so you can search the right phrase.