Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

retopology + texture

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Lesyndrel polycounter lvl 2
Hello! I'm new here. have lots of questions 
I have issues with retopology ( I have no idea how it should look like)
it's an asset, no animation so far.
tris limit is 7k. but I've used a bit more than 2k (do I have to use 7k tris, if the shape is ok? or it isn't..)
should there be only quads, or triangles also ok.. should I add some lines along the edges, in order to make them smoother?
ps. sorry for stupid questions. I have no experience yet.
appreciate any feedback 

Replies

• Neox
    Online / Send Message
    Neox veteran polycounter
    A. triangles are generally fine, in engine everything will be triangulated in either case
    B. if you limit is 7k and you are using 2k, why are you doing this? Do you have reference assets and this is their usualy poly density? if not, use the budget you have. No need to make things look lowepoly if you do not have. round out the silhouete. make sure the hose doesnt look like a 4 sided extrusion

how close can you get to the asset? i mean if its some game where its  abackground prop, this is probably allright, but if its 1st person or 3rd person and you can get close, make sure all the round stuff actually does look round.
  • Lesyndrel
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox said:
    A. triangles are generally fine, in engine everything will be triangulated in either case
    B. if you limit is 7k and you are using 2k, why are you doing this? Do you have reference assets and this is their usualy poly density? if not, use the budget you have. No need to make things look lowepoly if you do not have. round out the silhouete. make sure the hose doesnt look like a 4 sided extrusion

how close can you get to the asset? i mean if its some game where its  abackground prop, this is probably allright, but if its 1st person or 3rd person and you can get close, make sure all the round stuff actually does look round.