Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

SurvivalZ Art Dump. (New game coming to Apple Arcade)

polycounter
Offline / Send Message
pixelpatron polycounter
I know some of ya might just want the links and maybe not so much on the reading: 

Trailer: WATCH THE TRAILER

Link to download the game:  NOW AVAILABLE ON APPLE ARCADE

Hello fellow Polycount pixel junkies. I'm super excited to share our new project from Ember Entertainment coming soon to Apple Arcade! It's SurvivalZ! One part action, one part tower defense, rouge-lite. I've been making games for various studios for over 20 years, and this will be my first release with Ember Entertainment as well as my first Art Director credit. We would love to hear your feedback on the game, as well as impressions post launch! For now let's check out some art! 

The art team for SurvivalZ was very small, about 4 artists on the project, I took on environments, VFX, lighting, managing outsourcing, and principle asset creation, while the other artists handled concept art, animation, and UI . We outsourced some, but a lot of stuff was built in-house. I wanted to further evolve a style I explored while at King working on Paradise Bay; I wanted to take it and modernize it somewhat. It's a mix of old school techniques with some newness for speed of production, and a slight PBR methodology touch on top. I think overall we landed in a good spot visually, but also being very performant across many devices (hitting 60fps on mid to high end mobile devices). 

To get things rolling here is some Key Art. 

I created these images near the end of production. Once we had a lot of levels and enemies we posed some of them out and then had assets we could place in editor within environments already created or with assets used in a specific theme (forest, neighborhood, town, city). These images mainly serve as backdrops for splash screens and marketing images.