Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] Fish Tank Living Room

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
sirHelix polycounter lvl 4
Hello everyone!

I have started working on an environment and I'm 100% sure it will be a complex learning process, so I want to document the whole process.

The concept comes from Julio Dionizio , and most of the inspiration I have in this scene comes from TLOU II. 

This is going to be my first environment, because although I have a base in Unreal I have never finished a complete project, so I am new to all the concepts of lighting, color, creation of materials, optimization in UE,... I've already had time to collect all the articles and references that can help me make the project, but nothing else would be more useful than some feedback from you.

My main goals in this project are:

Transmit storytelling
Learning to illuminate in the UE
Make a couple of materials with Designer
Learn workflow with Megascan and UE
Get an art style similar to Naughty Dog's studio
Learning to use vertex painting 

And motivate more "beginner" people like me to get their first scene done. And to motivate myself to finish it :# 

This is my PureRef right now: 

My first steps have been to collect references, have a list of props I need and be clear about the storytelling. Then I got down to basic blocking and basic lighting. Then I started looking for assets in Megascan to do a blocking v.2 and see a little better the mood of the scene. I started to test materials and learn the interface and workflow of Unreal. Then I took out a lot of reference to make a version 2 of the lighting. And I think now I've reached a point where I've finished all the blockout phase and I'm going to make the final environment + main materials (wall, floor) and later I'll get the main asset which in this case is the fish tank. 
And this is how the blockout looks like, I'll be glad to hear any feedback on my composition, or something I didn't realize, Thanks!!!

Replies