Home Technical Talk

Advertising photographer looking to add small amounts of CGI to my workflow - Modo or Blender?

HI there everyone, I'm hoping a few people can chime in and help me make a decision going forward..

I'm an advertising photographer, and I want to start 3D modelling to strengthen my skillset a little; I'm 41 years old, and I've been a professional photographer for 12 years, and have been using Photoshop as a retoucher for nearly 20, so I feel I'm familiar with creative tools in general. I'm not looking to earn money from 3D Modelling, I just want to add it to my w0orkflow for producing richer photography.

I'm giving myself three years to learn a specific modelling platform, but I can't decide which one. My research has got me down to 2: Modo and Blender.

I'm leaning towards Modo, because it seems (to a layman) to be a bit more feature rich out of the box, and a bit more user-friendly. However, my main concern is that there appears to be very little in the way of community compared to Blender, which seems absolutely alive right now. 

I'd love to hear some insight from professionals into which one they would choose if they could begin all over again with what they know now. Price is not a concern, and Blender being free is what has me concerned about whether it's actually what I want, since it's the obvious choice compared to paid  programs. I'm happy to pay for Modo if it's the better choice for me. 

My main priority is being able to produce photorealistic objects, everything from toothbrushes to cars, to clouds, and planets. Not interested in animation, only still objects. I'm heavily interested in creating composite images to work with my photography.

Knowing this, which one would you say is sensible for not necessarily a total beginner, but someone who wants to take the most direct path to becoming technically proficient in the areas I mentioned? 

Thank you!

Replies

• CheeseOnToast
    Offline / Send Message
    CheeseOnToast greentooth