Home Technical Talk

How can I UV a model when its subtools had been merged and decimated? Confusion in the workflow.

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hi,
please take my apology if this had been explained already before but there is so much information out there that one can easily get lost and I am also new to Polycount.
I am very new to 3D modeling and ZBrush in  general and I have been trying my best with all the tutorials possible but I am still not getting very clear answer on the workflow of:
I have created a model of a character, merged down all its subtools to be able to decimate it and test it in Mixamo for rigging and animation (all works fine). At this stage I do not have any textures or polypaint on my model and I am standing in front of - what do I have to do now to create UVs and to be able to polypaint it? Is it possible to create UVs on decimated model which has eyes, teeth, clothes etc all in one tool? I have watched tutorials about UV Master in ZBrush and tested it but I am not sure if the UVs are good or not because it gave me quite a lot of pieces . Or do I have to go back to the high poly model before Merge down and do the UVs separately for each subtool? Would that work to then merge them down and decimate the whole model with UVs applied? is there any easy way to do this for a beginner?
I am sorry if my question is wrongly put together but that would probably just confirm my confusion on what am I supposed to do next.

Replies

• kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage
    Hi Lenka_Dan.
    What do you want the end product for/to do? Do you want to use the model in a game engine, or just for animations?