Home Technical Talk

Need help and advice for a newbie

ecadlmpt
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
ecadlmpt polycounter lvl 2
I am new to this industry and this forums, sorry if it don´t post this on the right forum. I don´t have any oney and my lack of experiencie and knowledge won´t let me get a job in order to learn more and pay courses to learn more and become a better artist. I´m afraid of getting to old and still have no experiencie background on real projects and productions.

Recently found out that i want to focus on environment and props modeling but there are a lot of things i do not understand.
I will resume my main questions because i don´t really want to extend to much this article.

My first question is, do we always have to do retopo in all objects? Environments as you know tend to have a lot of objects so for one person this process would take too much time, I basically understand that retopo is for getting a good flow in the geometry and reduce geometry but retopo applies only for very high poly or sculpted meshes? If I build something like a bed, a tv, objects more polygonal do this process has to bo applied anyway? or is it correct to leave objects just the way thy are as long as they have good topology and poly count?

Other process that confuse me a lot is baking. I´ve seen that this is applied to high poly meshes to the low poly meshes but I don´t know if beyond that this process is necessary for good texturing.

Again, excuse me i am really a noob in this but hoping to become a great artist one day.
All the advices for starting my career, gettin started with a little budget, how to get to know better the industry and get my work seen, understand better the workflows applied and pipelines, know when you have good meshes ready for productions, everything you can give me would be lot appreciated since i have lots of questions.

Beforehand I wanna thank you all for your patience and time with a newbie, looking forward to see your answers.