Home Career & Education

New student - looking at options.

Hello all, I am 30 years old, I have been a full-stack developer (C#, Python, PHP, Javascript, MYSQL...ect) for about 6 years now, this is not were I wanted to be though, I have a AA in graphic design, and my dream from the time I could conceive the idea of being an adult and holding a job has been working in asset creation for movies or games. I have an opportunity to go back to school, and I have settled on a few options Think Tank, Gnomon, or CGMA, using online method. I am leaning towards Think Tanks online program, I like the student work I've seen, I like the way the course is presented, and most of all, from the few reviews I've read, it's the one that comes off as the most challenging. I know enough of this industry that education isn't the end all...dedication, hard work, and skill seem to be the path forward. A few questions I have are...
  1. Is this assessment involving think tank correct? I want to be challenged.
  2. Has anyone here attended the think tank online program? Any pointers or info I could find handy?
  3. I currently live in Orlando, FL and while there seems to be a 3D/CG scene here with quite a few companies, namely a branch of EA, Universal and Steamroller Studios to name a few. Should I still expect to have to move out west to find entry level work?
  4. I've seen some job post involving pipeline/tools work involving languages such as python and C#, does having a web developer background look good/applicable for roles that involve this?
Thank you in advance and I sincerely look forward to getting to know everyone!

Replies

• Taylor Brown
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Taylor Brown ngon master
    If you know nothing, I would start with quality paid tutorials and joining some art communities. Dinusty and polycount are good to start.