Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[FINISHED] Snow Forest

cello8080
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
cello8080 polycounter lvl 4
Final Render :)

Hello all, 

This is my first time posting here, glad to finally be joining this community. I would appreciate feedback on this scene with regards to composition, lighting, overall mood and feeling. I would love to add this to my portfolio soon, but want to make sure it's as good as it can be before taking that step. Any feedback is appreciated :) 

Replies

• teodar23
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    teodar23 sublime tool
    Hey,
    About the lighting, there should not be a black spot like that in mid day lighting:
    And the shadows/skylight is too blue. I know that you are going for a slightly stylised look but it looks like an instagram filtered photo.
    Apart from the skulls and drawings there isnt much of a story with this image. Meaning, it has a sort of story but its not very interesting.
    I know you are focusing on comp, lighting, etc. but i cant stress enough how bad the clouds look. The default ue4 skybox is not a good way to present your scene. The internet is full of free hdris and even the ue marketplace has some nice free sky alternatives.
  • cello8080
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. yea I need to boost the story for sure. For the clouds, I will start hunting down some new ones and get those in! Will post some updates later
  • cello8080
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    UPDATE

So I added more roughness variation in the materials, lifted the shadows and made them less blue - edited the sky to be more in line with the environment. fixed the landscape tessellation not showing up in screenshots. adjusted the bloom and sun colour slightly, as well as edit the fog. Hope these changes are bringing it in the right direction :)

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter