Home Technical Talk

Need a tutorial on jets

Marlo
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Marlo polycounter lvl 4
Hello guys! I am doing 3D since the end of 2018 self taught and I've learned a lot so far. Most of the times I figured out problems all by myself or with the help of certain tutorials (bought or youtube). I feel comfortably with modeling a lot of objects by myself alone. However, I am struggling with jets. Currently I'm trying to model an F-16 Fighter Jet but I can't realy get the shape right. I'm not looking for a lowpoly version. Most of the tutorials I find however are either technical wrong or low poly versions. I just can't find a good tutorial on that. Am I just looking wrong or is there no tutorial on this? Specifically an F-16 would be the best case of course. It doesn't matter to me if it is a paid tutorial or not. I want to get this done and learn something here. Help would be appreciated by either linking a good tutorial on this or giving me some tips.
If there is nothing out there I am left with trying to get this done alone and I expect a lot of dark hours laying ahead. ;)

Greetings,
Marlo

Replies

• Dihemi
    Offline / Send Message
    Dihemi polycounter lvl 2
    Hello Marlo,

You could start with looking for some blueprints (drawingdatabase.com / the-blueprints.com) online if you already haven't, there are plentiful of resources on fighter jets, providing you with multiple views (front, top, sides) and should give you a good idea about their shape. Other than that, start with a block-out; only do the rough shape (main frame, tail and wings) before doing any details. Make sure proportions are correct. Start simple and progressively add details on top of your block-out.

Hope it helps.
  • Marlo
    Offline / Send Message
    Marlo polycounter lvl 4
    Hello Dihemi! Appreciate your help. :-)