Home Career & Education

Is there space in the gaming industry for a fashion designer?

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hi there! I am a trained fashion designer with 10+ years designing womenswear for runway in London and LA. I am looking to pivot my career (covid19 hit real hard) and I am interested in whether real world hyper-realistic AAA game developers use researchers or consultants outside of the artists themselves? For example with a historical game or a specific look where a more nuanced knowledge of fashion history, garment construction etc is required?
I have heard Phillip Boutte Jr (Star Trek, Black Panther)  who is a 3D costume artist mention "researchers" but have not found any job descriptions so far... any advice would be amazing! 

Replies

• sharsein
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sharsein polycounter lvl 9
    I think the artists mainly do the research themselves. They might contact an expert, but I don't think clothing expert is a full time career. However character concept art is mostly fashion design, 3d character artists use Marvelous Designer to simulate clothes in addition to using their sculpting skills, and there are cloth technical directors/artists dedicated entirely to making sure clothing behaves correctly. So your knowledge is valuable, but you'll need to build a portfolio showing it that also demonstrates the complementary skillsets.

Claire Hummel is a good example to look at: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/Yoy4V
  • garcellano
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    garcellano greentooth
    That's an interesting take. It would depend on the game. You pitch your idea or mention it to them, or they reach out to you, with what you can offer. What you know can help for character artists, I want to say. Without looking at it as a game, and just a project that needs a certain style or fashion to it, I'm sure it can come in handy.
  • poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter