Home Technical Talk

Why isn't parallax mapping used more?

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
I'm a layman. I signed in specifically to ask this.
It seems like a really cool technique that I don't ever see in games, except for the ones mentioned in the wiki article, of course. Oh, Spider-Man PS4 gives a similar result, but I found out it does not actually use parallax mapping.
Why hasn't it replaced normal maps entirely? Is it especially expensive when compared to a common normal map?

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    It's probably used more often than you're aware, just with more subtlety so it's more difficult to discern.

Parallax mapping is fairly expensive to render, at least for the methods that work well, and shader complexity is probably the most common cause for rendering slowdowns in current tech. So it's often avoided.

It's also fairly limiting because the parallax effect causes it to look like it's "below" the surface it's applied to. Which makes it difficult along boundaries. Normal maps on the other hand look like they're at the same level.

But hey, it's another trick in the arsenal. Good to have in specific cases.

Oh, and welcome to Polycount! Great first question.
  • guitarguy00
    Offline / Send Message
    guitarguy00 polycounter lvl 6
    It's probably used more often than you're aware, just with more subtlety so it's more difficult to discern.

Parallax mapping is fairly expensive to render, at least for the methods that work well, and shader complexity is probably the most common cause for rendering slowdowns in current tech. So it's often avoided.

It's also fairly limiting because the parallax effect causes it to look like it's "below" the surface it's applied to. Which makes it difficult along boundaries. Normal maps on the other hand look like they're at the same level.

But hey, it's another trick in the arsenal. Good to have in specific cases.

Oh, and welcome to Polycount! Great first question.