Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Blender Character Sculpt - Average time?

spidlee
node
Offline / Send Message
spidlee node
So... I just started learning Blender, and dived straight into character sculpting. For the experts here :), how long on average would you say you would spend on sculpting a base model like the one below? 

I spent about 3-4 days from start to end, and it's still not done! This is my first proper sculpting project, though I've mucked about in Zbrush donkey years ago.  Got to say, I'm loving Blender 2.8's overhauled UI/UX. I've used Blender maybe 5-6 years ago, and boy, is it night and day! Props to the Blender team~

Too slow? Looks like programmer art? Any and all feedback welcomed and appreciated! 

FYI: I did not use a reference... Character model is for a game I'm developing. Should I have used one? What do you guys usually do?

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    A couple weeks.

Yes you should have used reference.  His abdominals are unnaturally collapsing in towards his mon pubis.

We usually use an existing base model we'ev bought or kept from another project, or we spend a lot of time on the base model assuming we are reusing the proportions and/or topology fro the future.
  • JohannesAg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JohannesAg greentooth
    just to add to what brian said, always always use reference.
    Also i wouldn´t stress too much about time spent, just focus on making it good
  • spidlee
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    spidlee node
    Thanks guys for the feedback. I'll definitely heed that and start using references.  Will try to fix up the anatomical issues!

@Brian "Panda" Choi , wow a couple weeks. I've totally underestimated the scope for sculpting!