Home Technical Talk

Blender to Zbrush for highpoly model - My Struggle

polygon
Offline / Send Message
Boosted24v polygon
So I'm fairly new to the 3D modeling world, only been doing it about 5 weeks now. I've been working with Blender 2.8 and was introduced to the concept of using zbrush for smoothing things out and adding finer details on highpoly models. But I'm having an issue. When I leave my model as-is, with ngons on larger flat surfaces and import into zbrush (obj file) the model is ripped apart. I concluded zbrush didn't like the ngons, so I used blender's triangulate faces feature which did infact resolve the exploded model issue but it still made the model look like total crap. Any helpful tips? 

Replies

• cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    You're right about n-gons - zbrush doesn't support them so you'll need to stick to quads and triangles.
    Quads will give you the best result when it comes to subdivision smoothing and sculpting. 
  • Boosted24v
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Boosted24v polygon
    cryrid said:
    You're right about n-gons - zbrush doesn't support them so you'll need to stick to quads and triangles.
    Quads will give you the best result when it comes to subdivision smoothing and sculpting. 
    @cryrid
    I've discovered this the hard way lol, I generally try to stick with them (quads). Unfortunately, at least in my many hours of researching the topic, haven't been a whole lot of "best practices" material out there for dealing with this problem. Most will teach you how to make the shapes you want, but won't teach you how to set it up for export to other programs. The main issue being topology from boolean operations. So I'll post a picture of my model with all ngons intact, and one after the automatic "triangulate faces" feature is used. I'm a bit of a perfectionist so I'm just looking for a better way and for a better result. Any tips are greatly appreciated.