Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Review

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
b_beauchamp polycounter lvl 2

Hi everyone, I have been self-learning 3D art since July 2019, and I'm looking for some feedback on my current portfolio. My dream is to be an environment artist for a game studio, but I'm ultimately flexible as to where I end up. I am interested in hearing the feedback of anyone who has worked in the 3D industry, from studios to freelance. 

At this point I don’t know where to focus my efforts. I feel pretty confident in the quality of my work, and have felt so for a while, but have so far struck out in all my applications, not even landing a single interview. 

My portfolio: https://www.artstation.com/breannabeauchamp

My questions:

Am I employable with my current skill level?

What do you suggest I continue to work on?

Any tips for applying for work in the 3d industry?

Replies

• fdfxd2
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fdfxd2 interpolator
    I can't answer your questions as I'm kinda in the same boat but hey that hasn't stopped me from giving advice before and if I'm wrong, I'm sure one of the super pro dudes who are employed in Ubisoft,ILM & EA at the same time will  be nice enough to correct me.

In order of personal preference,
    Rogue Drone > Arch Viz interior > Phonograph > Swarm Drone > Everything else

Now onto my main criticism.

You're applying for a environment artist position, yet I'd argue that only one of your portfolio pieces comes close to demonstrating your environment art skills(the arch viz interior) because it's the only arguably complete scene in this portfolio. Feels a bit more like a 3d generalist portfolio than an environment artists portfolio.

sorry poly tomato man, you were just the most conveniently available example

@zachagreg 's portfolio has a bunch of environment props, designer textures, and 1 really good fully built game environment in unreal engine