Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Please Critique my work (be brutal)

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Corweee polycounter lvl 8
I've been trying unsuccessfully to break into the game industry for years now and I've hit a wall. I've sent probably a hundred or more applications to game companies and usually either get a swift rejection letter or no response at all. The art tests I've managed to actually get (two) I've failed. I've been working in Maya and Zbrush for over 10 years now but obviously I'm doing things wrong so if anyone could pick apart my recent work and give me detailed feedback I'd really appreciate it. If not, all good too.

(I'm also aware that a lot of people are going through this as well, but I just figured asking for help couldn't hurt.)

Site: https://www.coreythomasart.com/
Artstation: https://www.artstation.com/corweee
Sketchfab: https://sketchfab.com/cwthomasart

These are all High Res screenshots from Unreal:

Render from Zbrush:

SketchFab:

model
model
model

Replies

• Pirax
    Offline / Send Message
    Pirax triangle
    I'd say your work is good, what kind of roles are you applying for, location also? Might help people here give more accurate advice :-)
  • Corweee
    Offline / Send Message
    I appreciate that Pirax! And I agree that's a good idea for context. So I've been mainly applying for character artist positions. I live in NYC and I'd say 80-90% of the jobs I applied for are on the west coast.
  • Joseph_Bramlett
    Offline / Send Message
    Joseph_Bramlett polycounter lvl 4
    So a few things. Your website has to much on it to look at at a glance. I think your artstation compartmentalizes your work better and makes it easier to look at a t a glance. That being said I think a lot of your work on there should either be updated or removed as it doesnt seem of equal quality through out.