Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] The Last Of Us - Laundromat Environment

Hey everyone, My name is Connor Duke, On a quest to get a better understanding of Modeling, Lighting, Texturing and Creating Materials I have decided to create an environment heavily inspired by the following concept art from The Last Of Us

I am just beginning my journey into creating 3D Environments and still have a lot to learn, that being said, please feel free to critique my work as it will allow me to spot any flaws, but ultimately will help me to create a better end result! 

I have begun creating a Blockout for my scene that I am quite pleased with so far! Some would say I am wasting my time putting as much effort into modeling the Blockout, but as someone who is just starting out I find it really helps me to gauge if things are scaled correctly, etc. Most if not all of the assets will be replaced with high-quality versions in the end.

Here are some screenshots from the scene in its current state:

I will continue to update this post with each progression, but please let me know what you think! I hope you have an awesome day! Thank you! :)

Replies

• teodar23
    Offline / Send Message
    teodar23 sublime tool
    Looks good so far but for this scene i think that texturing and lighting are more important than modeling.
  • ConnorDuke
    teodar23 said:
    Looks good so far but for this scene i think that texturing and lighting are more important than modeling.
    Thank you :) I agree, getting great, realistic texturing and lighting are two of the things I struggle with the most to be honest. Looking forward to diving into Substance and learning the ropes! 
  • Pirax
    Offline / Send Message
    Pirax triangle
    Hey dude, nice start to this! Are you gonna match the lighting in the reference you found or going to take a twist on it? + I would say that good modelling is the foundation for good texturing and lighting so keep it up!
  • ConnorDuke
    Pirax said: