Home Career & Education

Online college suggestions for student interested in 3D Modeling.

Hello! I'm a young student who studied for animation school but had a change of heart to modeling for film/game.

I've been researching into schools in Ontario but I'm hesitant to apply since many of them either aren't taught by industry working professionals, too far away, are post-diploma courses or/and are quite expensive. I've since discovered online schools like CGMA and CG Spectrum and they seem good for what they offer with their online classrooms and teachers currently working in the industry. There's also ThinkTank Online, but I believe that's for more advanced artists?

Usually I wouldn't consider online college but I know getting a job is more reliant on your hard skills than diploma/degree, so I've considered working part time to pay and study these courses for a few years until I'm ready to apply. I understand it will be really hard (less networking options, among other downsides), but not impossible. Would really appreciate some more input here. Is this too risky? 

Hope everyone is and will stay safe and healthy. 
Cheers!

Replies

• sacboi
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range
    I assume, "...modeling for film/game" is char biased? (characters)

If so, Scott Eaton's "Anatomy for Artists" workshop, imho would be advisable to also think about, due to the highly competitive nature the discipline encapsulates these days for those seeking entry and the two tiered tuition stream is fairly reasonably priced however it's entirely your choice, either edu online hub among those you'd listed will suffice.

"Is this too risky?"

hmm...not sure what this means, can you expand a bit?
  • charlie_mandu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm fairly new to this, so I'm open to try out hard surface, organic modeling, environment or props to see where I can later fit in best.