Home Technical Talk

How Does Vertex Colours Work For Animations In UE4/Unity

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Zoddo polycounter lvl 5
I want to make wind animation for vegetation using Vertex Colours for game engines.

I've seen some great documentation on how to do it in UE4 with Max (pivot painter).
But I want to do this with Blender, and also export to Unity.

For Unity there's an asset called "Pivot Brush" with which you can vertex paint on meshes in-editor.
But I don't want to rely on beta third party assets.

So how can I paint vertex colours and export that information to UE4/Unity?
Do I have to bake those vertex colours on as a texture?
Do I have to Link/Rig leaves/Twigs/Branches?

I have never done this, and surprisingly can't find much information on how to do this besides UE4 with Max.
Can someone atleast point me into the right direction, as I am new to this?

Replies

• rollin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rollin polycounter
    You have a vertex paint mode in blender
    And no: baking them to texture would defeat the purpose of vertex colors. They are stored as part of the mesh data and e.g. the fbx file format does help to transport them to your engine of choice
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    For anyone wondering how you handle this in 3dsmax and unreal... I'll paste this from a older post of mine.

Unreal and 3dsmax totally support that workflow. I use it all the time, so do a lot of other artists.

In Unreal you use the vertex color node instead of a texture sample. You can apply that directly to the base color and you get the raw vertex colors that are baked into the mesh. OR... you can mix it with other nodes to get different effects or use it as a mask to blend two textures together, it's really up to you how you want to use them, its a really flexible system.

Unreal documentation about Vertex color Materials: