Home Career & Education

Portfolio and Career Advice

Hi there,

I'm an aspiring 3D artist, looking to get into Games doing props and environments. I'm from New Zealand and it's been really tough finding work. University didn't prepare me at all which was a real shame, I was a straight A student and thought I was doing well. I realized very quickly how far behind I was. I spent about 8-9 months looking for work and getting my skill levels up. There's basically no work available right now which has been quite tough. I'm having to work in a course creation video editing job to support myself, since I was unemployed for so long. There was one or two studios that were considering Grads/Juniors but these places have ignored me, even with a lot of networking. Feels like I know almost every person my industry in Auckland at this point but I might still need to try improve networking ;P

I would really appreciate a bit of guidance. I'm not sure if my portfolio is just really sub-par or if it's more my location. I made all of my portfolio pieces in 2019, so there's not a huge amount of work, which may be one of the reasons. It would be great to read about some people's experiences of getting into a 3D career. I'm pretty open minded as well, so even if people had suggestions of other industries to try that I might not have thought of, it would be a huge help. 

https://www.artstation.com/isaacpattison

Replies

• maximumsproductions
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    maximumsproductions polycounter lvl 8
    I think you are interested in more painterly styles, which is apparently a little harder to find the work for. I recommend, putting your skills together into a set.