Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Review

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
I am a 3D Modeler that specializes in environment art and props and I have just recently graduated from the Vancouver Film School's 3D Animation and Visual Effect's one year intensive program. I have put out my resume and portfolio to any location that is hiring, but all I have got back is either negative or nothing. Can anybody please review my portfolio and notify me on things I should change?

https://tristanzarin.artstation.com/

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Remove all your character art.

You're not a charactert artist, and the lack of quality of those pieces against your props is hurting the portfolio.

Strongest piece is the Adrian helmet.

The Celtic axe needs a revisit to the design.  It reads too much like it's too many primitives stuck together instead of something with depth in the design silhouette.
  • BagelHero
    Offline / Send Message
    BagelHero interpolator
    +1 to everything Brian mentioned, and additionally: check out other environment artist's portfolios. You're up against pros here now. Your presentation needs to be current and appealing, it looks a bit outdated. Work on your lighting and basic FX. Probably present on a darker slightly tinted background imho but thats less important. If you're focusing on games having these all in a real-time engine is important.