Home Career & Education

Any new tech artists need to be aware of for the coming Next-Gen?

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Blond polycounter lvl 9
The PS4/XBO generation saw the rise of PBR shading/lighting, complex vertex/normal shaders allowing artist to animate foliage, create fake depth on geo, even more realistic lighting/cubemaps setup, new reflective solution (SSR), more polycount limit on assets, 4k Textures, complex particle effects, volumetric smoke/cloud and so on.

Now, I'm pretty sure most of you probably don't know how all of that stuff works, focusing mostly on your specialization. 
What new techs coming for the upcoming generation do you think you'll need to learn to stay updated? 

PS: I'm an animator so I really don't think will change much on our side? I might be wrong?

Replies

• Obscura
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    RTX will simplify the work of lighting artists somewhat, and let them focus on the actually interesting part, instead of adjusting lightmap resolutions, trying to fix shadow acnes,  and baking for hours.
  • poopipe
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    HDR pipelines are going to fry everyone's brains.

Good luck :D
  • marks
    Offline / Send Message
    marks greentooth
    Honestly most people haven't even mastered the previous gen stuff (and in a lot of cases the previous previous gen stuff).

All of the shiny "new tech" .. expect it to be much less prevalent that people claim it will be, in 5 years time the significant challenges we face as studios as a whole will be largely the same as they are now. 

Expect the RTX trend to be largely a high-end PC phenomenon, consoles likely won't have the DXR hardware acceleration. 
    Lighting and post is going to become lots more complicated (though it's getting there already if you're doing it properly).

Expect to (still) not be using 4k textures on almost anything in a real production of any scale.