Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Game asset practice

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Neeraz polycounter lvl 5
I am new to game art.
Chose to work on this small project, for practice.
I seek critique, to not to do same mistakes again.
Hope its likable. 
Thank you.

Violin:
9K Tris (without strings)
https://www.artstation.com/neeraz

Replies

• Taylor Brown
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Taylor Brown ngon master
    Lovely work, keep it going
  • Neija
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Neija polycounter lvl 6
    Hey Neeraz,
    first off, cool asset. The model and bake look nice and clean. 9k tris is not cheap for a game prop, but okay for a first-person/portfolio asset. The textures are alright, but I feel like you could easily make the asset more shine with a few more tweaks here.
    First off, when looking at reference it seems like most violins are a lot glossier. There are surely exceptions, but with props, it's often a matter of what the average person would expect an asset to look like to make it convincing.
    This also gives you some more room to play with gloss values at points where the varnish has been damaged.
    The second thing I noticed is that I can't really tell how old/used this violin is supposed to be. It has some dirt and scratches and looks a bit dull overall, so it doesn't tell me a lot
    Think a bit about what happened to this instrument. How old is it? Has it been used a lot or just layn around in a case for a long time? Or is it completely new in the showcase of a violin maker ( so it might also have a mark or a sticker on it)? Has it been used by kids to practice or does it belong to a professional musician?
    Those kinds of questions give you hints about what kind of damage or dirt makes sense here. Also, think about which parts of the instrument would be touched a lot, those are the spots where it should look more worn off.