Home Career & Education

Opportunities to get one's foot in the door?

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
Spag_Eddy greentooth
Greetings be to thee fellow artists of Polycount! I am a junior 3D Environment Artist living in the magical kingdom of Los Angeles seeking some wisdom regarding alternative career opportunities to help get my foot in the door. I moved here about a year ago and began the career hunt last January, which to this point, has spawned nothing but crickets and rejection (aside from an internship with a small VR studio). Although I may be delusional in certain aspects of my life, I have no delusions that my work needs to be better, and in my free time, I am taking every chance and opportunity to better skills and the content of my current personal portfolio project, and the presentation thereof. That said, I work in the veterinary field and struggle often to be as productive with my art as I want to be due to how physically and mentally exhausting my job tends to be, and am trying to think of other creative ways to pay the rent/bills while still having the time/energy to pursue my art career and possibly build something of a network at the same time.