Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Princess and the Pea Diorama - WIP

triangle
Offline / Send Message
monagart triangle
Hello! I'm new to polycount, but have been wanting to post for a while. I've just started working on a diorama for a university project, and thought I'd log it here.

I'm doing a diorama inspired by 'The Princess and the Pea'. So far I have a big reference/mood board and have been doing iterations of  blockouts to get a feel for the environment. I'm still thinking of a few more props for the room, and building on some of the shapes to make them more interesting (eg. the table, bed). Any feedback on my current blockout would be great. I'm thinking of doing a quick paintover of it when I'm finished before I move on to making the assets. Also ignore the topology, it won't be used and this was just made for speed and iteration :)

Replies

• monagart
    Offline / Send Message
    monagart triangle
    Hello! Back to update my progress with this so far. I done a quick paintover of my blockout to try and capture the overall look and feel of the diorama. I also have a big moodboard with a ton of references and inspiration I'm working on, so I'll see how much of this changes!

I've broke the scene down into the assets and materials I need. I'm sculpting a few things, mainly unique objects like the bed and flag, and I'm going to use tiling materials and trim sheets for the rest. Here are what I have sculpted so far: The flag and spire, the table, a wood beam, the rug, the battlement (?), and two bricks, one for above the window and one for the steps. The rug and tablecloth look a little bare just now, but I plan to add more details in the textures with them.