Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP][UE4] The Heart Maker (Full Environment) Looking for critique!

triangle
Offline / Send Message
momomoonscar triangle
Here are some images of the 3D room I created for an online class. Everything is based off Nik Henderson's The Heart Maker concepts.I am still very new to UE4 lighting, so I was hoping to get some feedback on the lights and shadows I have baked so far. Any other thoughts are welcome! Thank you :)

Original Concept art:

Replies

• Carabiner
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Carabiner greentooth
    Hey there, the general mood and composition of this is super nice for your first big environment. I have a few smaller suggestions that I think will help push this to the next level. These are things that I also noticed in my first big environment which I'd go back and change now.

In general, some of your base color values look really dark - you shouldn't technically go below around 0.11 if you're trying to follow PBR standards. Things like the cracks in the stone wall, the handles of the pots, the banister, etc. What does it look like in base color or unlit mode?

The stair banister looks very flat in particular. In the concept, things are getting a lot more bounced light and also metallic-ness to them. Do you have the banister (and things like the pots and handles) set up as properly metallic? Are you using reflection captures to get a nice metallness read on them?

The hearts in the jars feel kinda light and desaturated compared to the concept.

Did you create the paintings on the walls, too? If not, you should credit the artist(s) -- at the very least in posts like this, but ideally also in text form in your portfolio images too.

I'm missing some of the larger props in the scene, like these: