Home Technical Talk

3D Animation: Resetting rotation after a 360 turn?

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
weltraumimport polycounter lvl 2
Hello!
I'm a newbie when it comes to the technical aspects of 3D animation so I was wondering how to pull it off that a character makes some kind of backflip or turns around and the rotation values are shooting up somewhere into the 360+ area. Is it supposed to be like that? Is there some smart secret workflow trick that resets all the values back?
I'm especially asking because I believe that these 360+ values can become problematic in game engines when transitioning back to other idle animations or some sort.

Side Note: I've only been working with Autodesk Maya so far!

Replies

• Hito
    Offline / Send Message
    Hito interpolator
    Maya defaults to Independent Euler for rotation curves, it keeps track of total turns, multiples of 360. Euler Filter command in Graph Editor will attempt to smooth out the rotation curve so controllers don't rotate full 360 between key frames. Works most the time.

Game engines will generally figure that out when transitioning between animations, you don't really need to worry about it in most instances as long as the pose at the end of one animation more or less matches the start of the next animation.
  • Mark Dygert
    If you bake animations, a key per frame, it shouldn't be an issue. 360 is the same as 0 as long as you don't interpolate between the two values. So technically it snaps from 360 to 0 but no one ever sees it move because it happens for two frames.

If you really needed to micro manage it in Maya, you would just set two keys, (that happen within a single frame), but really that's annoying to deal with and if you're pipeline is baking keys don't bother.
  • rollin
    Offline / Send Message
    rollin polycounter