Home Technical Talk

CAD Modelling for Games

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
drooms polycounter lvl 3

Finished Model (textured & rendered):

Hey guys, my name is John Kilbride, and I'm a freelance Hard Surface Artist. I decided I wanted to give a small look into my workflow using CAD-modelling software for game-ready props, since when I started out experimenting with this there wasn't a lot of direction after exporting from Fusion.

CAD modelling is generally used for production parts, that would then later be sent to a 3D printer or a CAD Mill. We of course want to embed it into a game-engine, so well have to find workarounds on how we can use the data supplied by Fusion, Solidworks or your preferred CAD Modelling software.

What You need:

Fusion360 (or your preferred CAD modelling software), Moi3D, Maya (or your preferred Polymodelling software) & Zbrush

First off: The difference.

We all know poly modelling: extruding, pushing around vertices, making sure we don’t make the lines wonky; It can be a hassle, and you will spend a lot of time on adjusting it especially when working on highly complex models. Everything has to be done proficiently so that your shading is correct, because you don’t want to risk normal artifacts that a player could notice (and that would look bad ingame later on). Softwares like Zbrush or 3dsMax do make the hussle a little bit easier, but you will still have to fight with good geometry.