[Finished] Sector 1 - a sci-fi passage in UE4

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
TheGabmeister interpolator

Finished Work:

Detailed blog post with summary on how I created the scene:
The Gabmeister Blog #3 - Sector 1, creating a sci-fi passage in Unreal Engine

Original Post:

Hello! This is my first attempt to create a sci-fi scene in Unreal Engine. My primary goal for this project is to improve my material and texture creation workflow with the help of Substance Designer and Painter. Also, I wanted to learn more about using face-weighted normals in hard-surface objects.

The main reference for this scene is a concept art created by Pene Menn, shown below:

I will summarize all the things I learned in an ArtStation blog later after finishing this project.

Replies

• TheGabmeister
    Offline / Send Message
    Currently working on the blockout of the scene:

Next up, I will setup some lights to and try to match the colorful lighting of the reference image.
  • TheGabmeister
    Offline / Send Message
    Played around with the lights. At the moment, almost all are set to Static except for a single Stationary Directional Light to simulate the light coming from the bluish star. I used some placeholder materials just to get something pleasing, but will eventually replace them later on. I also thrown in some emissive materials. Some of the emissive objects are set to "Use Emissive for Static Lighting" with "Emissive Boost" carefully adjusted.

One issue I discovered was that having a high emissive value turns an object's color to white, which is pretty realistic. This caused a mismatch as shown below:

I might need to play around with emissive values and bloom intensity to find a sweet spot between the two. Otherwise, I'll need to make a separate thread and ask how to achieve the one found in the reference. Based on my initial research in the Unreal forums, this has something to do with the default tonemapper:
    Emissive colors turning white?