Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Criticize my portfolio *[Update: Sci-Fi Katana]

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
HectorLucas polycounter lvl 2
Hi all, I'm quite new to this site and I see it appears to be one the biggest 3D community on internet. I was looking for many different sites where all the 3D discussions are but is not easy as you know forums are kind of old-fashioned stuff but I still prefer them over social media, Twitter, etc. so I'll try to stick with this site and participate more :)

So basically I'm a 3D artist specialized in modelling, texturing and more recently lighting. I was working last year on a studio on-site till the production got finished and now it's time for me to look for a new job while doing some freelance stuff and trying to improve my portfolio. 

Portfolio

As you see the first couple of projects are professional work and the rest is personal projects. Most of my first early models are characters as I started with character art until I realized that the competition for these kind of roles is quite brutal and switched more to environment art.

I would like you to take a look and tell me the weakest points of my portfolio and what to concentrate on to improve first. Also, what you suggest me to do next as new models and if you think it's worth it to keep trying on characters or should I go more into props/environments. Any other suggestions or things to point at are very welcome.

Thank you all for your time and I'm very pleased to join this community :)

Replies

• HectorLucas
    Offline / Send Message
    Improved this fella I did around 2 years ago :)

• HectorLucas
    Offline / Send Message
    Updated the topology of this creature a little bit. I added extra loops on the joints so it deforms better once animated. 10.520 Tris in total.

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/n4wB1

• defragger
    Offline / Send Message
    defragger sublime tool
    Your work is pretty solid already. I really like the Lizardman.