Home Coding, Scripting, Shaders

Can anyone make this more elegant/professional

afb3d
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
afb3d polycounter lvl 3

Here’s my script so far. Can anyone make this more elegant/professional for me please? I think this will help alot of people who use wacoms in max. Also will be happy to credit anyone who helps with it in the script.

All for the community folks.

(

global selectionChanged

callbacks.removescripts #selectionSetChanged id:#myCallbackID

callbacks.addscript #selectionSetChanged "selectionChanged()" id:#myCallbackID

fn selectionChanged =

(

if not (isCreatingObject()) and not keyboard.shiftPressed do

max select

)

)

Replies

• afb3d
    Offline / Send Message
    afb3d polycounter lvl 3
  • afb3d
    Offline / Send Message
    afb3d polycounter lvl 3
  • ProperSquid
    Offline / Send Message
    ProperSquid polycounter lvl 12
    I'm not an expert with Maxscript, but what's happening here? What does this do to help Max users with Wacom tablets?
  • afb3d
    Offline / Send Message
    afb3d polycounter lvl 3
    When using a tablet it's so ridiculously easy to move an object by accident when trying to select it. This script makes sure you're always using the select object tool instead of move,rotate,scale. 

It's the same as pressing Q. But automates it everytime you make a selection.
  • ProperSquid
    Offline / Send Message
    ProperSquid polycounter lvl 12
    That's pretty cool. From what I can see, the code looks pretty good (without knowing the language). If this was in Python, then I'd probably be able to give you better feedback.
  • afb3d
    Offline / Send Message
    afb3d polycounter lvl 3
    Thanks :) trust me it makes a huge difference when working in max now. I just wish someone who was an actual programmer could "finalize it" so it has no kinks and people can enjoy it. 
  • Revel
    Offline / Send Message
    Revel interpolator