Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sylvanas Windrunner - World of Warcraft Character

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Ying polycounter lvl 4
Hi guys! I'm relatively new to polycount so I hope I'm doing this right! :)

I'm working on a 3D character model of Sylvanas Windrunner. My goal is to bring her to a full game-ready asset and texture in Substance Painter referencing Overwatch's style.

This is Sylvanas (and Overwatch's Widowmaker as quick ref):

I'm going with the World of Warcraft  'Cataclysm' and 'Wrath of Lich King' concept art designs above. I'm also pushing her proportions to be similar to the ladies in Overwatch (Widowmaker, D.Va, Symmetra etc).

My WIP rough block out from yesterday:

My current most recent WIP. I fixed some anatomy (chest, back) and changed her boots shapes to fit her lower leg better:

Feedback is very welcome! Thanks for taking the time to read this and checking her out! :smiley:

EDIT:

SHE'S FINISHED! :) Thanks for checking her out everyone! <3

More renders at Artstation: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/Pmqbbr

Replies

• Ying
    Offline / Send Message
    Ying polycounter lvl 4
    Current WIP for Sylvanas! Still blocking out her armor and re-adjusted some anatomy. Trying to get a feel of all her main design elements together. There are still some armor designs I gotta get in there, but I'll be moving on to blocking out her bow and quiver next.

Some before and afters:

• Carabiner
    Offline / Send Message
    Carabiner greentooth
    Looking good so far! A few things:

Her face could use some love. In your sculpt it feels soft and cute, whereas in your references it feels more harsh and angular.

Also, her arms seem a tad short too.
  • Pandan
    Offline / Send Message
    Pandan polycounter lvl 7
    I'd say her legs are too long, it's making her arms seem too short.
    Also personal opinion I wouldn't wear a metal bikini at least without some leather between it & my skin. LOL :P