Home Career & Education

"Time To Get Serious and Get the Skills for a 3D Enviro/Prop Artist Job!" - The Sequel, N:th edition

STORY TIME SHIT FIRST

I'm a Finnish game artist, 26 years old, with a small resume and smaller portfolio. So after 9 months of moping around after I was done with the military, after I was done with my cool LEGO internship, after I was done with everything from uni related to actual game work... I got a job doing some animation for a startup making surgical simulations. Then, after three months, I was fired. Sure enough, it was a startup company, and the lack of any serious motivation for firing me may have been due a lack of funds rather than my skills, but... My skills need work.

So this is my n:th attempt at getting my shit together. I love 3D game art, but I've had this weird fear of actually getting my head down and working on my skills every day. Well, I'm probably not alone there, and there are probably people who have gotten through that, even though the fact that I set out on my game dev journey in 2011 and it feels bad to be one of the handful of artists from my class who aren't employed doing cool stuff by now.

Well, that's the sensitive, self-pity sob story stuff out of the way, I wanted to be open about where I am. For someone who have been doing 3D since 2011, I don't have a lot to show for it. So while I'm browsing the posts by similar people with similar situations asking for similar advice, I figured I'd bravely make my own shitpost about it, and see what morsels of feedback and advice I could gather!

WOT IT IS