Home Technical Talk

Help needed! unable to select object/verts etc - 3DS max after using cut tool - solved?

Daniel91
triangle
Offline / Send Message
Daniel91 triangle
Hello,

Im new to 3ds max and modeling, I am current following a tutorial by chamfer zone.

i am unable to select an object or any control points on an object after trying to use the cut tool.

operation im trying to do - i have 2 objects, i am trying to cut into the face of one, using the vertex snap to trace the other.

before trying to do this, i can select everything fine, afterwards, i cant select the model unless i select everything and then deselect what i dont want, or if i go to scene exporer, but even once i have selected the object, it wont let me select verts, edges or faces. its like it doesnt see the object there. (the cut doesnt work either)

i have performed this operation somewhere else on this object with no issues at all.

i have checked to make sure the object isnt frozen, or selection locked and i have double checked that there is no selection filter.

does anyone have any ideas? its driving me crazy

Replies

• Dubious_Fellow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dubious_Fellow polycounter lvl 7
    Hi, I've been modelling for around 10 years now and I have to admit that I'm having a hard time understanding what it is you're doing/trying to achieve i.e. "using the vertex snap to trace the other." -I have no idea what this means...

"once i have selected the object, it wont let me select verts, edges or faces. its like it doesn't see the object there. (the cut doesn't work either)" -this does sound familiar, my first instinct would be to unfreeze all, but you've already tried that...

Once you have the troublesome object selected have you tried right-clicking and converting to an editable poly (effectively resetting it), this might help?