Home Adobe Substance

New.. Removing or painting over Textures

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
ozaffer polycounter lvl 13
I'm pretty new to substance and I wasn't having luck with a google search so my apologize for the newbie question. 

edit: I was making a belt and getting alot of bleeding inbetween an objects elements even when painting in the texture map view. A common issue I'm sure which I've already fixed with the brush UV parameters, but my 2nd issue idk how to phrase for a search engine.. Some elements that I wanted a brass metallic color/texture but when the leather texture bled over then got painted over with brass the leather texture doesn't go away.. so I have some leather texture on the brass elements that idk how to get rid of.. Examples below.. 

I'll likely need to watch a full tut on this but I'm interested in getting Ambient Occlusion maps or spec maps exported too, my first export (planning on using Unreal engine so used that preset) gave me a bump and diffuse but without the reflective maps it comes out flat especially the metals.

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    save yourself a lot of trouble and do some tuts.

you'll want to understand how to use the layer stack to your advantage here. That's the  main way to separate different types of elements. Technically you can paint directly in a single layer like that, but -- well just do some tuts and you'll see why it's really wasting the potential of the program.