Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

3D Realtime Hair

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
DanaosC polycounter lvl 5
Hello everybody! I've been working with hair for a few months now, figuring out what works best and what doesnt, here is the latest asset I made in my free time that I can show, there's still some figuring out to be done when it comes to the shapes, but I'm happy with how this turned out. I will be making breakdowns of the pipeline and include some advanced tips and tricks.
Game ready tri count at 8k tris, here's a beauty render in Toolbag, using a shader I wrote that works similar to the hair shader of Unreal Engine, fading out the edges with the AO map, giving it a softer look. C&C is much appreciated :) 

I'll be posting more images and the breakdown of the pipeline, here and on the Artstation post :) Cheers!

Replies

• akiratang
    Offline / Send Message
    akiratang polycounter lvl 11
    That looks amazing and really lifelike, I've been trying to make hair for my characters as well. Im still a noob and havent had much experience with it, would love to see a breakdown of this sometime :)
  • DanaosC
    Offline / Send Message
    akiratang said:
    That looks amazing and really lifelike, I've been trying to make hair for my characters as well. Im still a noob and havent had much experience with it, would love to see a breakdown of this sometime :)
    Thanks man! Im glad you like it. Yeah it's quite a hassle and a long trip to figure out the right pipeline. Will def post a breakdown :) Cheers!
  • Lou_
    Offline / Send Message
    Lou_ polycounter lvl 6
    Hey man some C&C would be that the hair to retain that volume would need to have gel or hair spray. Might be worth tinkering with roughness or colour values, to demonstrate that. I think that could really add to the character of the hair. 
    Great work anyway, hope this helps. 
  • DanaosC
    Offline / Send Message
    Lou_ said: